Results of Tuesday’s Election for Open Legislative Seats

Special elections were held Tuesday to complete the unexpired terms in four open legislative seats. 

General elections were held the State House District 1 and State Senate District 46.  In House District 1, Democrat Curtis McDaniel won with 62% of the vote to fill the seat left vacant after the death of Rep. Rusty Farley, who passed away last year.  Current State Rep. Al McAffrey (D) defeated Republican Jason Reese to win the Senate District 46 seat that was left vacant by former Democratic Leader Andrew Rice, who resigned in order to relocate with his family to Tennessee.  Both McDaniel and McAffrey are expected to be sworn in following the certification of the election results by the State Election Board.

Primary elections were also held for State House District 71 and State Senate District 20.  Dan Arthrell won the Democratic primary and Katie Henke won the Republican primary for House District 71 that was left vacant by Rep. Dan Sullivan, who resigned earlier this year to accept a position with the Grand River Dam Authority.  Ann Griffin won the Republican primary for State Senate District 20 that was left vacant by the death of Sen. David Myers late last year.  General elections for both these seats will be held in April. 

See unofficial election results here

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted.